Picture this. You're sitting at a sidewalk café in La Roma, Mexico City. A massive, neon-green Hummer rolls by, blasting loud club music, driven by a guy wearing sunglasses at night indoors. Your Mexican friend rolls their eyes, takes a sip of their café de olla, and mutters one word under their breath:
"Naco."
If you spend enough time in Mexico, you are guaranteed to hear this word. It's everywhere. It's in telenovelas, casual gossip, Twitter arguments, and everyday street banter. But what exactly makes someone or something a naco? And more importantly, why do you need to be incredibly careful before you try using it yourself?
Grab a seat, and let's break down one of the most loaded, controversial, and deeply Mexican slang words in the dictionary.
What exactly does it mean?
At its core, calling someone a naco is calling them tacky, tasteless, or completely lacking in social grace. It's the ultimate label for someone who has zero style and terrible manners.
But here is the biggest misconception foreigners have: they think it just means "poor."
Wrong. So wrong.
While historically the term was heavily tied to classism (we'll get to that in a second), modern Mexican culture has evolved the word. Today, money absolutely cannot buy you out of being a naco. In fact, having a lot of money can sometimes make you more naco if you don't know how to act.
A billionaire who buys a gold-plated sports car and parks it across three accessible parking spots? Total naco. A politician who yells at a waiter because their soup is cold? Naco. Someone who plays videos on their phone at full volume on the metro without headphones? You guessed it.
It's about a lack of civic education, a lack of consideration for others, and an aggressive display of bad taste.
Where did this heavy word come from?
Language nerds are still fighting over the exact origins, but most agree it has some pretty dark, discriminatory roots. The most widely accepted theory is that it comes from "Totonaco," the name of an indigenous group in Mexico. Historically, the elite classes used it as a racist and classist slur to punch down at indigenous people or anyone from a lower socioeconomic background.
Because of this history, the word carries a massive amount of cultural baggage. It's not just a lighthearted tease. For older generations especially, it still stings with that original classist venom.
Younger generations have tried to reclaim and shift the meaning strictly toward behavior rather than background. You'll often hear millennials and Gen Z say things like, "Being naco is a state of mind, not a social class." But even with that shift, it remains a dangerous word if you don't know your audience.
Real-world examples: How you'll hear it used
You'll hear it used as both a noun and an adjective. Here are a few ways it pops up in the wild:
"¡Qué naco eres, apaga esa música!"
(You're so tacky, turn off that music!)"Se compró una playera con un logo gigante de Gucci, está bien naco."
(He bought a t-shirt with a giant Gucci logo, it's really tacky.)"Masticar con la boca abierta es de nacos."
(Chewing with your mouth open is for people with no manners.)"Ese güey es súper naco, siempre se estaciona en doble fila."
(That guy is super rude/tacky, he always double parks.)"No seas naco, deja propina."
(Don't be classless, leave a tip.)
The flip side of the coin and related slang
You can't fully understand this concept without knowing its mortal enemy: the fresa. If a naco is loud, tacky, and rough around the edges, a fresa is the preppy, snobby, upper-class stereotype who speaks with a potato in their mouth and only shops at high-end boutiques.
But ironically, fresas can absolutely do naco things. When a wealthy, pretentious person acts incredibly rude to service staff, Mexicans will happily call out their "naquez" (the noun form, meaning tackiness or lack of culture).
You'll also hear it combined with other classic Mexican curse words for emphasis. If someone is being unbelievably obnoxious, you might hear them called a "pinche naco" — though you definitely shouldn't be the one saying that unless you're looking to start a fight!
Tips for using it naturally (and safely)
Here is the best advice I can give you as a Spanish learner: Understand it perfectly, but use it sparingly.
Because you didn't grow up with the cultural nuances of the Mexican class system, it's very easy to accidentally cross the line from "making a funny observation about bad taste" to "sounding like an elitist jerk."
If you do want to use it, the safest way is to use it on yourself in a self-deprecating way. Mexicans love self-deprecating humor. For example:
"Me siento muy naco comiendo estos Cheetos en el cine, pero ni modo."
(I feel really tacky eating these Cheetos in the movie theater, but whatever.)
By calling yourself out for doing something slightly uncultured but harmless, you show that you understand the slang without insulting anyone else.
Want to practice using expressions like this in real conversations without the fear of offending a stranger? Ahorita drops you into interactive stories where you'll use them naturally — like ordering at a taquería, navigating street slang, or chatting with locals. It's the perfect way to get the hang of the vibe before you try it out in the real world.
Next time you're in Mexico and you see someone cutting the entire line at the grocery store while talking loudly on speakerphone, just catch your friend's eye. You won't even need to say the word. You'll both already be thinking it.

